Life of the association

Technical Council Awards 2021

This Award is granted to a few CIGRE Members as a reward for their active participation in the activities of the technical work of the Study Committees. Every two years, each Study Committee Chair puts forward one name from among members of his/her Study Committee or Working Groups. These proposals are approved by the Technical Council Chairman.

The recipients of the 2021 Technical Council Award are:

A1 Rotating electrical machines Nico SMIT NZ
A2 Power transformers and reactors Tim GRADNIK SI
A3 Transmission and distribution equipment Martin KRIEGEL  CH
B1 Insulated cables Geir CLASEN NO
B2 Overhead lines Anish ANAND IN
B3 Substations and electrical installations Romain MIGNÉ FR
B4 DC systems and power electronics Ting AN CN
B5 Protection and automation John William  WRIGHT  GB
C1 Power system development and economics Valdson  SIMOES DE JESUS  BR
C2 Power system operation and control Vinay SEWDIEN NL
C3 Power system environmental performance Christian CAPELLO CH
C4 Power system technical performance David JACOBSON CA
C5 Electricity markets and regulation David BOWKER AU
C6 Active distribution systems and distributed energy resources Samuel JUPE GB
D1 Materials and emerging test techniques Stefan KORNHUBER DE
D2 Information systems and telecommunication Victor TAN AU

CIGRE grants 7 kinds of distinctions in recognition of the services rendered by members. More information on

Life of Association

The ELECTRA 'Life of the Association' section offers the latest on our people and events from across the 94 countries in CIGRE's global community.

Top of page