Life of the association

CIGRE Honorary Members 2021

Every Session year the "Honorary Member" award is granted to maximum ten members who have proven participation in CIGRE technical activities in a leadership role of CIGRE, and for members whose service of CIGRE has been judged exceptional.

The CIGRE Honorary Members 2021 are:

Mircea EREMIA Romania

Active member in several Working Groups for over 14 years, and contribution to the development of CIGRE in Romania by guiding the young generations of engineers.


Very active member of the Steering Committee from 2014 to 2018.

Ja-yoon KOO


Administrative Council member since 2004 representing South Korea, Chair of Asia-Oceania Regional Council of CIGRE in 2004, and elected member of the Technical Council representing the Administrative Council of CIGRE since 2020.

John McDONALD United States of America

US National Committee VP Technical, and by initiating a Mentoring Program for Next Generation Network and Women in Energy to participate actively in CIGRE technical activities.

Matthias ZWICKY Switzerland

Very active member of the Steering Committee from 2016 to 2020.

Yuriy BONDARENKO Ukraine

Member of the CIGRE Administrative Council since 2007 and Chairman of the South East European Regional Council from 2016 to 2018.

CIGRE grants 7 kinds of distinctions in recognition of the services rendered by members. More information on


Life of Association

The ELECTRA 'Life of the Association' section offers the latest on our people and events from across the 94 countries in CIGRE's global community.

Top of page