Life of the association

CIGRE Fellows 2020 Recipients

The "CIGRE Fellow" award is attributed for active participation in the activities of the technical work of the study committees and for providing a lead technical role in the study committees (maximum five awards every two years).

The Recipients 2020 are:

Dhananjay Kumar CHATURVEDI

India Convener of Working Groups A1.46 (TB 724 : Guide on Use of Premium Efficiency Motors in Existing Plant and Industry & Determining benefits of CO2 Emission Reduction), A1/C4.66 (Guide on the Assessment, Specification and Design of Synchronous Condenser for Power System with Predominance of Low or Zero Inertia Generators), and main contributor to TB 558 (Guide on Diagnostics, Monitoring and Prognosis of Large Motors).
Masoud FARZANEH Canada Convener of Working Groups B2.28, B2.44 and B2.69, and main contributor to TB 438, TB 631, TB 179, TB 645.
Maks BABUDER Slovenia Chair of the CIGRE International Colloquium on Lightning and Power Systems in 2017 in Ljubljana. Chair of the Technical Advisory Committee of the 1st and 3rd CIGRE SEERC Conferences in 2014 (Portoroz) and 2018 (Kyiv).
Paulo GOMEZ Brazil Special Reporter in 2008 and 2014 CIGRE Sessions, Secretary of Working Groups C2.21 (TB 608 : Lessons learnt from recent Emergencies and Blackout Incidents) and C2.23 (TB 712 : System Restoration Procedure and Practices), Speaker at Large Disturbances Workshops in Sessions 2000, 2002 and 2014.
Pouyan POURBEIK United States Chair of Study Committee C4 "System technical performances" from 2012 to 2018, Convener of Working Groups C4.601 and TF 38.02.25

CIGRE grants 7 kinds of distinctions in recognition of the services rendered by members. More information on


Life of Association

The ELECTRA 'Life of the Association' section offers the latest on our people and events from across the 94 countries in CIGRE's global community.

Top of page